Skip to main content

Microbiology & Cell Science

Microbiology & Cell Science

People

Faculty

Karim Asghari (Square)

Karim Asghari

Senior Lecturer

352-392-5226

asghari@ufl.edu

BIO

Dr. Karim Asghari is a senior lecturer in the Department of Microbiology & Cell Science, specializing in General Microbiology, Microbilogy Laboratories, and Immunology Laboratories.

Brent Christner Profile Image

Brent Christner

Associate Professor

352-392-1179

xner@ufl.edu

BIO

The Christner Research Group is interested in the physiology, ecology, biogeochemistry, and molecular adaptations of microorganisms inhabiting environments of the cryosphere and atmosphere. 

Daniel Czyz Profile Image (Square)

Daniel Czyz

Assistant Professor

321-392-0237

dczyz@ufl.edu

BIO

Dr. Czyz is interested in two topics: antimicrobial resistance (AMR) and protein conformational diseases (PCDs).  

Jo Marie Bacusmo

Lecturer

352-846-0968

jmbacusmo@ufl.edu

BIO

Jo Marie Bacusmo is an experienced Research Associate with a demonstrated history of working in the higher education industry.   

Crecy Profile Image (Square)

Valerie de Crecy-Lagard

Professor

352-392-9416

vcrecy@ufl.edu

BIO

The study and implementation of “accuracy” is the general theme unifying the different components of my research program.  

Raquel Dias

Raquel Dias

Assistant Professor

352-392-5925

raquel.dias@ufl.edu 

BIO

The Dias lab develops and applies cutting-edge Artificial Intelligence (AI) methods to examine important research questions across multiple fields of biological sciences and biomedical research.

Sarah Doore Profile Image

Sarah Doore

Assistant Professor

352-846-0953

sdoore@ufl.edu

BIO

The Doore lab is interested in viruses of bacteria—known as bacteriophage or phage—and how they interact with their bacterial hosts.   

Jennifer Drew Profile Image

Jennifer Drew

Senior Lecturer

321-693-5485

jdrew@ufl.edu

BIO

Jennifer C. Drew is a genomics lecturer and STEP program professor in the Department of Microbiology & Cell Science.  

Mariola Edelmann Profile Image

Mariola Edelmann

Assistant Professor

352-846-0954

medelmann@ufl.edu

BIO

The Edelmann Lab is investigating the novel host-directed therapies against Gram-negative infections and the functions of exosomes and other extracellular vesicles in enteric infections.  

Jessie Fernandez Profile Image

Jessie Fernandez

Assistant Professor

352-392-2490

jessie.fernandez@ufl.edu

BIO

My research interest is based on understanding how plant pathogens grow inside the host cell, suppress, or evade host defenses and cause disease.    

Jamie Foster

Jamie Foster

Professor

321-525-1047

jfoster@ufl.edu

BIO

The overall objective of Dr. Foster’s research program is dedicated to examining the interactions between microbial communities and their surrounding environments to improve our understanding... 

Claudio Gonzalez Profile Image

Claudio Gonzalez

Professor

352-273-8088

cfgonzalez@ufl.edu

BIO

We are especially interested in a big group of enzymes called esterases that includes carboxylesterases, arylesterases and thioesterases.  

William Gurley Profile Image

William Gurley

Professor

352-392-1568

wgurley@ufl.edu

BIO

Research in my laboratory is focused on two main topics of study: one involving heat shock transcription factors, and the other, transcription factor IIB (TFIIB).   

 NEMAT O. KEYHANI Profile Image

Nemat O. Keyhani

Professor

352-392-2488

keyhani@ufl.edu

BIO

Our laboratory performs research in two main areas. (1) Tripartite interactions between Beauveria bassiana, a fungal pathogen of arthropods, their insect hosts, and plant partners with which the fungus forms associations, and (2) Chemical communication in insects.     

Melissa Jones Profile Image

Melissa Jones

Assistant Professor

352-392-5923

mmk@ufl.edu

BIO

Dr. Jones is currently teaching the Virology lecture course for undergraduate and graduate students.  

Peter Kima Profile Image

Peter E. Kima

Associate Professor

352-392-0384

pkima@ufl.edu

BIO

My laboratory is interested in the mechanisms by which intracellular pathogens evade immune detection.  

Joseph Larkin III Profile Image

Joseph Larkin III

Associate Professor

352-392-6884

jlarkin3@ufl.edu

BIO

The basic goals of the immune system are to mediate effective defense against infectious microorganisms, and the elimination of defective/cancerous self tissues.  

Kevin Lee Profile Image

Kevin Lee

Lecturer

352-392-1906

km.lee@ufl.edu

BIO

Kevin is a CLAS Microbiology majors (traditional and transfer) advisor.  

Graciela Lorca Profile Image

Graciela Lorca

Professor

352-273-8090

glorca@ufl.edu

BIO

The Lorca Laboratory a diverse group of researchers whose main focus currently is investigating a probiotic strain of bacteria called Lactobacillus johnsonii N6.2. 

WILLM MARTENS-HABBENA Profile Image

Willm Martens-Habbena

Assistant Professor

954-577-6372

w.martenshabbena@ufl.edu

BIO

I teach and mentor students at the undergraduate and graduate level. 

Julie Maupin-Furlow Profile Image

Julie Maupin-Furlow

Professor

352-392-4095

jmaupin@ufl.edu

BIO

The Maupin-Furlow lab is investigating extremophiles of the domain Archaea. 

ZHONGLIN MOU Profile Image

Zhonglin Mou

Professor

352-392-0285

zhlmou@ufl.edu

BIO

We study these signal transduction pathways and their activation mechanisms using the model plant Arabidopsis. 

WAYNE L. NICHOLSON Profile Image

Wayne L. Nicholson

Professor

321-261-3773

wln@ufl.edu

BIO

Dr. Nicholson’s laboratory studies mechanisms of bacterial spore resistance and longevity, the survival and proliferation of microorganisms in extreme extraterrestrial environments, and microbial evolution in novel environments. 

Monika Oli Profile Image

Monika Oli

Master Lecturer

352-392-8434

moli@ufl.edu

BIO

I strongly encourage internship and study abroad opportunities for all students. 

Kelly Rice Profile Image

Kelly C. Rice

Associate Professor

352-392-1192

kcrice@ufl.edu

BIO

My research program focuses on aspects of bacterial physiology and cell communication that contribute to biofilm development of pathogenic Gram-positive bacteria. 

Uli Stingl Profile Image

Uli Stingl

Assistant Professor

954-577-6326

ustingl@ufl.edu

BIO

My lab is focusing on analyzing and understanding the structure and function of aquatic microbial communities. 

Luiz Roesch

Luiz Roesch

Assistant Professor

352-294-9136

roesch@ufl.edu  

BIO

Our research group uses molecular analysis to test fundamental hypotheses in microbial ecology.

Tony Romeo Profile Image

Tony Romeo

Professor

352-392-2400

tromeo@ufl.edu

BIO

We study regulatory mechanisms by which microbes sense changes in the environment and respond by modifying their behavior and metabolism. 

Eric Triplett Profile Image

Eric Triplett

Professor and Chair

352-392-5430

ewt@ufl.edu

BIO

The overall goal of the Triplett lab is to determine the drivers of microbial diversity in a wide range of environments. 

 WILFRED VERMERRIS Profile Image

Wilfred Vermerris

Professor

352-273-8162

wev@ufl.edu

BIO

Research in Dr. Vermerris’ lab is focused on elucidating biochemical and physiological processes relevant for the genetic improvement of crops that can be used as feedstocks for renewable fuels and chemicals. 

Nian Wang Profile Image

Nian Wang

Professor

863-596-8828

nianwang@ufl.edu

BIO

Molecular genetics and functional genomics of plant-bacteria interactions and methods to control citrus diseases caused by Candidatus Liberibacter asiaticus (Citrus Greening) and Xanthomonas axonopodis pv. citri (Citrus Canker). 

Emeritus Faculty

Howard Johnson Profile Image

Howard Johnson

Emeritus Faculty

352-846-0968

johnsonh@ufl.edu

BIO

Our studies are focused on understanding the mechanism of action and modulation of cytokine function in the immune system. 

James Preston Profile Image

James Preston

Emeritus Faculty

352-392-5923

jpreston@ufl.edu

BIO

James Preston researches the selection of bacterial enzymes and the evolution of molecular mechanisms.

K. T. SHANMUGAM Profile Image

K. T. Shanmugam

Professor

352-392-2490

shan@ufl.edu

BIO

Dr. Shanmugam’s research at the University of Florida, Florida Center for Renewable Chemicals and Fuels (FCRC) is focused towards metabolic engineering of bacterial biocatalysts for production of chemicals and liquid fuels at high yield and purity.

Edward Hoffman Profile Image

Edward Hoffman

Emeritus Faculty

emh@ufl.edu

Graduate Students

Angelica Ahrens

Angelica Ahrens

Triplett Lab
a.ahrens@ufl.edu 

Samuel Akinsuyi

Samuel Akinsuyi

Roesch Lab
o.akinsuyi@ufl.edu 

Placeholder Photo - Gator

Rocio Amorin De Hegeues

Foster Lab
ramorin@ufl.edu 

Jill Babor

Jill Babor

de Crecy Lab
jbabor@ufl.edu 

Hailey Barker

Hailey Barker

Edelmann Lab
haileybarker@ufl.edu

Adrian Barry Sosa

Adrian Barry Sosa

Christner Lab
abarrysosa@ufl.edu

Placeholder Photo - Gator

Shannon Barry

Wang Lab
shanbarry@ufl.edu 

Reagan Beliakoff - Card

Reagan Beliakoff

Lorca Lab
reaganbeliakoff@ufl.edu

Meghan Berryman

Meghan Berryman

Triplett Lab
meghan.berryman@ufl.edu 

Chelsey Bomar

Chelsey Bomar

Christner Lab
chelseybomar@ufl.edu 

Jessie Brandwein

Jessie Brandwein

Rice Lab
jbrandwein@ufl.edu  

Placeholder Photo - Gator

Shannon Brown

Martens-Habbena Lab
shannonbrown@ufl.edu  

Placeholder Photo - Gator

Eunkyung Choi

Martens-Habbena Lab
echoi@ufl.edu  

Placeholder Photo - Gator

Ricardo Couto-Rodriguez

Maupin Lab
r.coutorodriguez@ufl.edu   

Placeholder Photo - Gator

Alexandra Estefania Cuaycal Bastidas

Gonzalez Lab
acuaycalbastidas@ufl.edu 

Placeholder Photo - Gator

Danilo Rodrigues da Silva

Lorca Lab
danilos90@ufl.edu   

Placeholder Photo - Gator

Javier Dalmendray

Wang Lab
jdalmendray@ufl.edu 

Davis,Christina

Christina Davis

Christner Lab
christinadavis@ufl.edu  

Placeholder Photo - Gator

KeAira Davis

Rice Lab
ke.davis@ufl.edu 

Autumn Dove

Autumn Dove

Czyz Lab
autumn.dove@ufl.edu 

Placeholder Photo - Gator

Justin Ellena

Christner Lab
jellena@ufl.edu 

Ellington,Adam

Adam Ellington

Christner Lab
ellingtona@ufl.edu 

Placeholder Photo - Gator

Garrett Lee Ellward

Czyz Lab
glee.ellward@ufl.edu 

Placeholder Photo - Gator

Lisa Emerson

Edelmann Lab
lisa.emerson@ufl.edu 

Placeholder Photo - Gator

Joseph Emhof

Foster Lab
emhof.joseph@ufl.edu 

Placeholder Photo - Gator

Quincy Faber

Christner Lab
qfaber@ufl.edu 

Gal,Daniel

Daniel Gal

Maupin Lab
danielgal@ufl.edu 

Placeholder Photo - Gator

Mark Gorelik

Romeo Lab
mgorelik@ufl.edu 

Placeholder Photo - Gator

Fiona Harris

Mou Lab
fharris@ufl.edu 

Placeholder Photo - Gator

Matthew Hauserman

Rice Lab
m.hauserman@ufl.edu   

Placeholder Photo - Gator

Jacob Hourihan

de Crecy Lab
jhourihan@ufl.edu  

Placeholder Photo - Gator

KO Irving

Christner Lab
ko.irving@ufl.edu  

Placeholder Photo - Gator

Nina Infantado

Martens-Habbena Lab
ninfantado@ufl.edu   

Jaroch,Marshall

Marshall Jaroch

de Crecy Lab
mjaroch@ufl.edu  

Placeholder Photo - Gator

Ross Joseph

Keyhani Lab
josephr1@ufl.edu   

Placeholder Photo - Gator

Taylor Ladner

Doore Lab
taylor.ladner@ufl.edu   

Placeholder Photo - Gator

Kelley Lobean McKinley

Triplett Lab
pposse@ufl.edu   

Placeholder Photo - Gator

Connor Meenan

Rice Lab
meenanc@ufl.edu   

Merritt, Benjamin

Benjamin Merritt

Mou Lab
b.merritt@ufl.edu   

Placeholder Photo - Gator

Kathleen Miller

Nicholson Lab
k.miller2@ufl.edu 

Mosby-Haundrup,Chanel

Chanel Mosby-Haundrup

Jones Lab
c.mosby.haundrup@ufl.edu   

Ocampo, Jonna

Jonna Ocampo

Rice Lab
jonnaocampo@ufl.edu  

Petrone,Joseph

Joseph Petrone

Triplett Lab
josephpetrone@ufl.edu  

Placeholder Photo - Gator

Colbie Reed

de Crecy Lab
creed212@ufl.edu   

Rios Glusberger,Paula

Paula Rios Glusberger

Triplett Lab
priosglus@ufl.edu   

Placeholder Photo - Gator

Tracoyia Roach

Larkin Lab
troach13@ufl.edu   

Placeholder Photo - Gator

Jonathan Rodriguez

Martens-Habbena Lab
jrod23@ufl.edu   

Placeholder Photo - Gator

Nicole Ross

Lorca Lab
nicole.ross@ufl.edu  

Sanchez, Karol

Karol Sanchez

Maupin Lab
ksanchezsanchez@ufl.edu   

Santelices,John

John Santelices

Edelmann Lab
jsant@ufl.edu   

Placeholder Photo - Gator

Layla Schuster

Dias Lab
layla.schuster@medicine.ufl.edu   

Placeholder Photo - Gator

Jatin Sharma

Larkin Lab
jatin.sharma@ufl.edu   

Placeholder Photo - Gator

Lauren Stafford

Larkin Lab
lauren.stafford@ufl.edu   

Sullivan, J

Joseph Sullivan

Jones Lab
josephsullivan1@ufl.edu   

Thompson,Sharon

Sharon Thompson

Lorca Lab
sharon.thompson@ufl.edu   

Trujillo Rodriguez,Lidimarie

Lidimarie Trujillo Rodriguez

Maupin Lab
ltrujillo@ufl.edu   

Turpin,Patricia

Patricia Turpin

Triplett Lab
pturpin@ufl.edu  

Placeholder Photo - Gator

Kelly Ugarelli

Stingl Lab
kugarelli@ufl.edu   

Walker,Alyssa

Alyssa Walker

Czyz Lab
awalk1@ufl.edu   

Wassel,Paul

Paul Wassel

Maupin Lab
jpwas2@ufl.edu  

Placeholder Photo - Gator

Katy Weber

Maupin Lab
weberk1@ufl.edu   

Yu, David

David Yu 

Maupin Lab
jomamill7@ufl.edu   

Zhao, Guanqi

Guanqi Zhao

Jones Lab
g.zhao@ufl.edu  

 

Post Doctoral Associates

Post Doctoral Associate Email Lab
Bansal, Kamaldeep kamalbansal89@ufl.edu Keyhani
Barile, Anna anna.barile@ufl.edu de Crecy
Bongrand, Clotilde cbongrand@ufl.edu Foster
Einarsson,Sveinn seinarsson@ufl.edu  Reisch
Jia, Huiyong huiyongjia@ufl.edu Maupin 
Christine, Pourciau cepourciau@ufl.edu  Romeo
Koch, Eric ejkoch@ufl.edu Foster
Li, Qi qi.li@ufl.edu Mou
Liu, Cheng cheng.liu@ufl.edu Mou 
Quaiyum, Samia samia.quaiyum@ufl.edu de Crécy
Thakku Rajaram, Ramkumar ramkumar.thakkur@ufl.edu de Crécy
Torrez Lamberti, Monica Florencia m.torrezlamberti@ufl.edu Lorca 

Research Labs

Name Email Address Title Lab
Adams,Sawyer  sawyer.adams@ufl.edu OPS Keyhani
Ardissone, Alexandria lexi88@ufl.edu Assistant Scientist Drew
Best, Jacob jacob.best@ufl.edu   Czyz
Cai, Qing qingcai@ufl.edu  OPS Keyhani
Choi, Chang Jae changjae.choi@ufl.edu  Biological Scientist II Stingl & Martens-Habbena 
Fajardo-Cavazos, Patricia pfajardo@ufl.edu Associate Scientist Nicholson
Gardner,Christopher L clg6363@ufl.edu Biological Scientist II Gonzalez
Huber, Julie julie.huber@ufl.edu  OPS Fiscal
Hutinet,Geoffrey  ghutinet@ufl.edu Biological Scientist III de Crécy
Kairalla, Emily ekairalla@ufl.edu  OPS Reisch
Nguyen, Jane jane.nguyen@ufl.edu    Keyhani
Mejia,Catalina catalinamejia@ufl.edu OPS Reisch
Ou,Mark  markie@ufl.edu BIOLOGICAL SCIENTIST, SR Edelmann
Pannuri, Archana archanap@ufl.edu  Biological Scientist II Doore
Valdiviezo, Mateo mvaldiviezo@ufl.edu  OPS Teaching & Keyhani
Zhang,Xudong xdzhang@ufl.edu Biological Scientist III Mou

Staff

Fiscal and Administrative Office

Sean Davis Picture

Sean Davis

Financial Analyst II
352-392-0212
sfdavis@ufl.edu

Renee Patterson

Renee Patterson

Fiscal Assistant II
352-846-0944
jimmie@ufl.edu

lukas_M

Mary Jane Lukas

Administrative Specialist II
352-846-0945
m.lukas@ufl.edu

Holly Freitas

Holly Freitas

Accountant III
352-392-7108
hfreitas@ufl.edu

Joey Romano

Fiscal Assistant III
352-294-7573
jromano514@ufl.edu

Sean York

Sean York

Sr. Biological Scientist
352-273-0499
swyork@ufl.edu

 

Computer and Technology Support

Javier Real

Javier Real

IT Professional II
352-392-5926
jreal@ufl.edu

Thomas Allain

Thomas Allain

IT Assistant
352-392-1906
thomasallain@ufl.edu

 

Teaching Laboratory

alam_munoz

Alam Muñoz

Scientific Laboratory Manager
352-392-4096
amunozberistain@ufl.edu