Skip to main content

Faculty

Karim Asghari (Square)

Karim Asghari

Senior Lecturer

352-392-5226

asghari@ufl.edu

BIO

Dr. Karim Asghari is a senior lecturer in the Department of Microbiology & Cell Science, specializing in General Microbiology, Microbilogy Laboratories, and Immunology Laboratories.

Nils Averesch

Assistant Professor

n.averesch@ufl.edu

BIO

As Assistant Professor of Space Biology at the Space Life Science Laboratory, Nils' research comprises the rational engineering of microbial metabolism to increase the carbon-efficiency of biochemical pathways for assimilation of single-carbon compounds and the conversion thereof into advanced biomaterials.

BIO

Jo Marie Bacusmo is an experienced Research Associate with a demonstrated history of working in the higher education industry.   

Marc G. Chevrette

Assistant Professor

352-273-4921

mchevrette@ufl.edu | Publications

BIO

Our research focuses on the ecology and evolution of the genes that encode secondary metabolism and how microbial metabolites shape microbiome interaction networks. We deploy both computational and experimental approaches to describe the eco-evo dynamics of bacteria and the genes that assemble their secondary metabolites. 

Brent Christner Profile Image

Brent Christner

Professor

352-392-1179

xner@ufl.edu | Publications

BIO

The Christner Research Group is interested in the physiology, ecology, biogeochemistry, and molecular adaptations of microorganisms inhabiting environments of the cryosphere and atmosphere. 

Daniel Czyz

Assistant Professor

321-392-0237

dczyz@ufl.edu | Publications

BIO

Dr. Czyz is interested in two topics: antimicrobial resistance (AMR) and protein conformational diseases (PCDs).  

Valerie de Crecy-Lagard

Distinguished Professor

352-392-9416

vcrecy@ufl.edu | Publications

BIO

The study and implementation of “accuracy” is the general theme unifying the different components of my research program.  

Raquel Dias

Raquel Dias

Assistant Professor

352-392-5925

raquel.dias@ufl.edu | Publications

BIO

The Dias lab develops and applies cutting-edge Artificial Intelligence (AI) methods to examine important research questions across multiple fields of biological sciences and biomedical research.

Jaysankar De

Adjunct Lecturer

(352)-273-4206

jde@ufl.edu | Publications

BIO

UF Online students should contact Dr. De if they have general academic advising questions.

Sarah Doore Profile Image

Sarah Doore

Assistant Professor

352-846-0953

sdoore@ufl.edu | Publications

BIO

The Doore lab is interested in viruses of bacteria—known as bacteriophage or phage—and how they interact with their bacterial hosts.   

Jennifer Drew Profile Image

Jennifer Drew

Senior Lecturer

321-693-5485

jdrew@ufl.edu | Publications

BIO

Jennifer C. Drew is a genomics lecturer and STEP program professor in the Department of Microbiology & Cell Science.  

new_fernandez

Jessie Fernandez

Assistant Professor

352-294-9167

jessie.fernandez@ufl.edu | Publications

BIO

My research interest is based on understanding how plant pathogens grow inside the host cell, suppress, or evade host defenses and cause disease.    

Mariola Edelmann Profile Image

Mariola Ferraro

Associate Professor

352-846-0954

mjferraro@ufl.edu | Publications

BIO

The Edelmann Lab is investigating the novel host-directed therapies against Gram-negative infections and the functions of exosomes and other extracellular vesicles in enteric infections.  

Jamie Foster

Jamie Foster

Professor

321-525-1047

jfoster@ufl.edu | Publications

BIO

The overall objective of Dr. Foster’s research program is dedicated to examining the interactions between microbial communities and their surrounding environments to improve our understanding... 

BIO

Dr. Elizabeth Gadsby shares her industry experience with students and faculty in the Department of Microbiology and Cell Science through her creation and leadership of professional development courses and the department advisory council.

Claudio Gonzalez Profile Image

BIO

We are especially interested in a big group of enzymes called esterases that includes carboxylesterases, arylesterases and thioesterases.  

Melissa Jones Profile Image

Melissa Jones

Assistant Professor

352-392-5923

mmk@ufl.edu | Publications

BIO

Dr. Jones is currently teaching the Virology lecture course for undergraduate and graduate students.  

Peter Kima Profile Image

Peter E. Kima

Associate Professor

352-392-0384

pkima@ufl.edu | Publications

BIO

My laboratory is interested in the mechanisms by which intracellular pathogens evade immune detection.  

Joseph Larkin III Profile Image

Joseph Larkin III

Associate Professor

352-392-6884

jlarkin3@ufl.edu | Publications

BIO

The basic goals of the immune system are to mediate effective defense against infectious microorganisms, and the elimination of defective/cancerous self tissues.  

Kevin Lee Profile Image

Kevin Lee

Lecturer

352-392-1906

km.lee@ufl.edu

BIO

Kevin is a CLAS Microbiology majors (traditional and transfer) advisor.  

Graciela Lorca Profile Image

Graciela Lorca

Professor

352-273-8090

glorca@ufl.edu | Publications

BIO

The Lorca Laboratory a diverse group of researchers whose main focus currently is investigating a probiotic strain of bacteria called Lactobacillus johnsonii N6.2. 

Willm Martens-Habbena

Assistant Professor

954-577-6372

w.martenshabbena@ufl.edu | Publications

BIO

The Martens-Habbena lab uses molecular biological, microbial physiological, and biogeochemical methods to investigate microbial activities in aquatic and terrestrial environments and their impact on major biogeochemical cycles.

Julie Maupin-Furlow Profile Image

BIO

The Maupin-Furlow lab is investigating extremophiles of the domain Archaea. 

ZHONGLIN MOU Profile Image

Zhonglin Mou

Professor

352-392-0285

zhlmou@ufl.edu | Publications

BIO

We study these signal transduction pathways and their activation mechanisms using the model plant Arabidopsis. 

Monika Oli

Master Lecturer

352-392-8434

moli@ufl.edu | Publications

BIO

We developed a state of the art microbiology lab and teach a creative curriculum that allows students to understand the importance of microbes in their every day live and at the same time prepares them with skills and tools hat are important for their diverse future careers.

Rice_profile

Kelly C. Rice

Associate Professor

352-392-1192

kcrice@ufl.edu | Publications

BIO

My research program focuses on aspects of bacterial physiology and cell communication that contribute to biofilm development of pathogenic Gram-positive bacteria. 

Tyler Square

Assistant Professor

352-392-2488

square.t@ufl.edu | Publications

BIO

In the Square Lab, we study skeletal and dental development in model fish species to understand how signaling pathways work. Functional genomics, single-cell sequencing, and bone growth assays come together to reveal fundamental mechanisms of vertebrate development.

Uli Stingl Profile Image

Uli Stingl

Assistant Professor

954-577-6326

ustingl@ufl.edu | Publications

BIO

My lab is focusing on analyzing and understanding the structure and function of aquatic microbial communities. 

Luiz Roesch websized image square cropped

Luiz Roesch

Associate Professor

352-294-9136

roesch@ufl.edu | Publications

BIO

Our research group uses molecular analysis to test fundamental hypotheses in microbial ecology.

BIO

Students should contact Leandro if they are CALS Microbiology undergraduates interested in general academic advising. Including, course scheduling, registration issues, holds, major/minor changes, advanced lab sign up, etc.

Eric Triplett Profile Image

Eric Triplett

Professor and Chair

352-392-5430

ewt@ufl.edu | Publications

BIO

The overall goal of the Triplett lab is to determine the drivers of microbial diversity in a wide range of environments. 

 WILFRED VERMERRIS Profile Image

Wilfred Vermerris

Professor

352-273-8162

wev@ufl.edu | Publications

BIO

Research in Dr. Vermerris’ lab is focused on elucidating biochemical and physiological processes relevant for the genetic improvement of crops that can be used as feedstocks for renewable fuels and chemicals. 

Nian Wang Profile Image

Nian Wang

Mr. and Mrs. J. R. (Rip) Graves Eminent Scholar Endowed Chair

863-596-8828

nianwang@ufl.edu | Publications

BIO

Molecular genetics and functional genomics of plant-bacteria interactions and methods to control citrus diseases caused by Candidatus Liberibacter asiaticus (Citrus Greening) and Xanthomonas axonopodis pv. citri (Citrus Canker). 

Xin Wang

Associate Professor

352-392-2400

wangx3@ufl.edu | Publications

BIO

We are interested in the designing principles of cells and their synthetic biology applications. We apply experimental evolution, genetics, and biochemistry approaches to identify and characterize genetic traits associated with increased photosynthetic efficiency in cyanobacteria.

square image of meixa zhou

Meixia Zhao

Assistant Professor

352-273-3715

meixiazhao@ufl.edu | Publications

BIO

The Zhao laboratory uses a combination of computational and functional genomic, genetic and epigenetic approaches to study the mechanisms underlying genome evolution, transposon silencing, and epigenetic regulation of meiotic recombination and plant-microorganism interactions. 

Emeritus Faculty

William Gurley Profile Image

William Gurley

Professor Emeritus

352-392-1568

wgurley@ufl.edu | Publications

BIO

Research in my laboratory is focused on two main topics of study: one involving heat shock transcription factors, and the other, transcription factor IIB (TFIIB).   

Howard Johnson Profile Image

Howard Johnson

Professor Emeritus

352-846-0968

johnsonh@ufl.edu

BIO

Our studies are focused on understanding the mechanism of action and modulation of cytokine function in the immune system. 

James Preston Profile Image

James Preston

Professor Emeritus

352-392-5923

jpreston@ufl.edu

BIO

James Preston researches the selection of bacterial enzymes and the evolution of molecular mechanisms.

Tony Romeo Profile Image

Tony Romeo

Professor Emeritus

352-392-2400

tromeo@ufl.edu

BIO

We study regulatory mechanisms by which microbes sense changes in the environment and respond by modifying their behavior and metabolism. 

K. T. SHANMUGAM Profile Image

K. T. Shanmugam

Professor Emeritus

352-392-2490

shan@ufl.edu

BIO

Dr. Shanmugam’s research at the University of Florida, Florida Center for Renewable Chemicals and Fuels (FCRC) is focused towards metabolic engineering of bacterial biocatalysts for production of chemicals and liquid fuels at high yield and purity.

Edward Hoffman Profile Image

Edward Hoffman

Professor Emeritus

emh@ufl.edu

Graduate Students

Photo Name Email Address Advisor(s) Location
Samuel Akinsuyi Samuel Akinsuyi o.akinsuyi@ufl.edu Luiz Roesch Building 0981
Hailey Barker Hailey Barker haileybarker@ufl.edu Mariola Ferraro Building 0981
Shannon Barry shanbarry@ufl.edu Nian Wang CREC
Reagan Beliakoff - Card Reagan Beliakoff shanbarry@ufl.edu Graciela Lorca Building 1376
Kaleb Boswinkle kboswinkle@ufl.edu de Crecy Lab Building 0981
Saloni Bhimani Saloni Hitesh Bhimani kboswinkle@ufl.edu Mariola Ferraro Building 0981
  Shannon Brown shannonbrown@ufl.edu Willm Martens-Habbena FLREC
Jose Becerra José D.D. Cediel-Becerra jcedielbecerra@ufl.edu Marc Chevrette Building 0981
Xi Cheng xicheng@ufl.edu Meixia Zhao Building 0981
  Javier Dalmendray jdalmendray@ufl.edu Nian Wang CREC
  Justin Ellena jellena@ufl.edu Brent Christner Building 0981
Garrett Ellward Garrett Lee Ellward glee.ellward@ufl.edu Daniel Czyz Building 0981
Joseph Emhof emhof.joseph@ufl.edu Jamie Foster UF Space Life Science Lab
Samantha Enslow Samantha Enslow samanthaenslow@ufl.edu Mariola Ferraro Building 0981
Quincy Faber qfaber@ufl.edu Brent Christner Building 0981
  Yu Feng yufend1@ufl.edu
Nian Wang CREC
Gal,Daniel Daniel Gal danielgal@ufl.edu Julie Maupin-Furlow Building 0981
  Ma Andrea Cruz Gatmaitan gatmaitanm1@ufl.edu
Nian Wang CREC
Sebastian Guerra sguerra1@ufl.edu Marc Chevrette Building 0981
Fiona Harris Fiona Harris fharris@ufl.edu Zhonglin Mou Building 0981
Mahmood Hasan Mahmood Hasan m.hasan1@ufl.edu Meixia Zhao Building 0981
  Zhuyuan Hu huzhuyuan@ufl.edu Nian Wang CREC
  Nina Infantado ninfantado@ufl.edu Willm Martens-Habbena FLREC
  KO Irving ko.irving@ufl.edu Brent Christner Building 0981
Khondokar Nowshin Islam islamk@ufl.edu Xin Wang Building 0981
Rachel Ivester Rachel Ivester rachel.ivester@ufl.edu Jamie Foster UF Space Life Science Lab
Zhenxiong Jiang jiangz1@ufl.edu Xin Wang Building 0981
Timothy Johnson Timothy Johnson timothy.johnson@ufl.edu Jessie Fernandez Building 0981
Rachel Kalicharan Rachel Kalicharan rkalicharan@ufl.edu Jessie Fernandez Building 0981
  Adrien Kellens akellens@ufl.edu
Jamie Foster UF Space Life Sciences Lab
Hailey Kerns Hailey Kerns hailey.kerns@ufl.edu Sarah Doore Building 0981
Ladner, Taylor Taylor Ladner taylor.ladner@ufl.edu Sarah Doore Building 0981
Kelley Lobean McKinley pposse@ufl.edu Eric Triplett Building 0981
Adam Mearig adam.mearig@ufl.edu Eric Triplett Building 0981
Connor Mennan Connor Meenan meenanc@ufl.edu Kelly Rice Building 0981
Merritt, Benjamin Benjamin Merritt b.merritt@ufl.edu Zhonglin Mou Building 0981
Michelle Mozlin mmozlin@ufl.edu Luiz Roesch Building 0981
Ocampo, Jonna Jonna Ocampo jonnaocampo@ufl.edu Kelly Rice Building 0981
Amanda Ojeda Amanda Ojeda ao12345@ufl.edu Luiz Roesch Building 0981
Brandon Pate bpate1@ufl.edu Raquel Dias Building 0981
Rios Glusberger,Paula Paula Rios Glusberger priosglus@ufl.edu Eric Triplett Building 0981
Brooke Ritchie Brooke Ritchie brookeritchie@ufl.edu Melissa Jones Building 0981
Javier Rosero Javier Rosero jrosero@ufl.edu Peter Kima Building 0981
  Nicole Ross nicole.ross@ufl.edu Sarah Doore Building 0981
Murrel Saldanha msaldanha@ufl.edu Marc Chevrette Building 0981
Karol Sanchez ksanchezsanchez@ufl.edu Julie Maupin-Furlow Building 0981
Santelices,John John Santelices jsant@ufl.edu Mariola Ferraro Building 0981
Alex Schultz alexsss2@ufl.edu Mariola Ferraro Building 0981
Asra Sharjeel asrasharjeel@ufl.edu Graciela Lorca Building 1376
Chetna Sharma chetnasharma1@ufl.edu Xin Wang Building 0981
Sullivan, J Joseph Sullivan josephsullivan1@ufl.edu Melissa Jones Building 0981
Katy Weber weberk1@ufl.edu Julie Maupin-Furlow Building 0981
Rachel White rachel.white1@ufl.edu Kelly Rice Building 0981
Jessica Xhumari Jessica Xhumari jessicaxhumari@ufl.edu Luiz Roesch Building 0981
Akwasi Yeboah Akwasi Yeboah akwasiyeboah@ufl.edu Meixia Zhao Building 0981
Yu, David David Yu jomamill7@ufl.edu Julie Maupin-Furlow Building 0981
Zhao, Guanqi Guanqi Zhao g.zhao@ufl.edu Melissa Jones Building 0981

Post Doctoral Associates

Post Doctoral Associate Email Lab
Babor, Jill jbabor@ufl.edu Valerie de Crécy
Cumsille, Andrés a.cumsillemontes@ufl.edu Marc Chevrette
da Silva, Danilo danilos90@ufl.edu Graciela Lorca
Einarsson, Sveinn seinarsson@ufl.edu  Marc Chevrette
Judd, Heather h.judd@ufl.edu Julie Maupin-Furlow
Lee, Gwonjin lee.gwonjin@ufl.edu Meixia Zhao
Liu, Cheng cheng.liu@ufl.edu Zhonglin Mou 
Sher, Shahid shahid.sher@ufl.edu Brent Christner
Walker, Alyssa awalk1@ufl.edu  Daniel Czyz
Xie, Ningdong xien@ufl.edu Xin Wang

Research Lab Staff

Name Email Address Title Lab
Ahn, Sang-Joon zinaahn@ufl.edu Research Associate Scientist Kelly Rice
Ahrens, Angelica a.ahrens@ufl.edu Assistant Research Scientist Eric Triplett
Ardissone, Alexandria lexi88@ufl.edu Assistant Scientist Jennifer Drew
Choi, Chang Jae changjae.choi@ufl.edu  Biological Scientist II Uli Stingl & Willm Martens-Habbena 
Donahey, Melinda mchue@ufl.edu  OPS Marc Chevrette
Garcia, Nalleli ngarciarodriguez@ufl.edu Biological Scientist II Jessie Fernandez
Kuipers, Paul pkuipers@ufl.edu  Senior Biological Scientist Valerie de Crécy
Li, Qi qili@ufl.edu Biological Scientist II Zhonglin Mou
Ou, Mark  markie@ufl.edu  Sr. Biological Scientist Marc Chevrette & Meixia Zhao
Pannuri, Archana archanap@ufl.edu  Biological Scientist II Sarah Doore
Schuster, Layla layla.schuster@medicine.ufl.edu  Data Management Analyst II Marc Chevrette, Raquel Dias, & Meixia Zhao
Torrez Lamberti, Monica Florencia m.torrezlamberti@ufl.edu
OPS Graciela Lorca
Yuan, Yifeng yuanyifeng@ufl.edu  Biological Scientist II Valerie de Crécy
Zhang, Xudong xdzhang@ufl.edu Sr Laboratory Technician Zhonglin Mou

 

Staff

Fiscal and Administrative Office

Sean Davis Picture

Sean Davis

Financial Analyst II
352-392-0212
sfdavis@ufl.edu

Renee Patterson

Renee Patterson

Fiscal Assistant II
352-846-0944
jimmie@ufl.edu

lukas_M

Mary Jane Lukas

Administrative Specialist II
352-846-0945
m.lukas@ufl.edu

Holly Freitas

Holly Freitas

Accountant III
352-392-7108
hfreitas@ufl.edu

Nivia Baez

Fiscal Assistant III
352-273-0435
niviabaez@ufl.edu

Sean York

Sean York

Research Administrator II
352-273-0499
swyork@ufl.edu

 

Computer and Technology Support

Javier Real

Javier Real

IT Support Supervisor
352-392-5926
jreal@ufl.edu

Thomas Allain

Thomas Allain

IT Professional I
352-294-0407
thomasallain@ufl.edu

 
 

Marketing & Communications

Colleen Davis

Marketing Development Manager
352-294-9185
colleenedavis@ufl.edu

Maxine Worthy

Marketing & Communications Specialist
352-846-0955
maxineworthy@ufl.edu

Shea Dermody

Marketing Assistant
352-294-9185
shea.dermody@ufl.edu

 

Teaching Laboratory

alam_munoz

Alam Muñoz

Scientific Laboratory Manager
352-392-4096
amunozberistain@ufl.edu